Meet the Class of 2019 valedictorian and salutatorian

Canajoharie Central School recently announced its two top scholars for the class of 2019. Derek Countryman is the valedictorian, and Abigail Smith is the salutatorian.

Valedictorian Derek Countryman

Valedictorian Derek Countryman has pursued a wide range of academic and extracurricular activities throughout his high school career.

Derek has been a member of the Jazz band, Technology club, Student Council – President his senior year, All-County Choir, Boy Scouts-Troop 81 since fifth-grade, Ski Club, and All-County Band.

During his high school career, Derek played Varsity Golf and was the Golf Captain his junior and senior years, Varsity Wrestling and Varsity Track.

Derek was awarded Excellence in French his freshman and junior years and Boy State in 2018.

Outside of school, Derek is an Artisan at Beekman 1802, organized blood drives for the Red Cross, volunteered at McDonald’s Night, Pancake breakfast, Our Lady of Hope Catholic Church, 5S Cleanup. He was an Eagle Scouts service projects helper and was Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara’s student cabinet member.

Derek will attend Elmira College in the fall.

Salutatorian Abigail Smith

Salutatorian Abigail Smith has been active inside and outside the high school classroom. She was a member of Student Council and Science Club. She served as Vice President of Student Council and President of the Science Club in 2018.

Abigail was apart of the Girls Varsity Soccer and Track and Field teams. She was the team captain of the Girls Varsity Team in 2018, Class C Section 2 Allstar in 2017, and First Team WAC League Allstar in 2017 and 2018. In Varsity Track and Field, she was a school record holder in Pole Vault, Section 2 Class C Sectional, second-place pole vault in 2018 and third-place in 2017.

Abigail was awarded the George Eastman Young Leaders Award and was apart of the National Honor Society in 2017 and 2018.

Abigail will attend Wells College in the fall.

Congratulations to all of Canajoharie’s top 10 students of 2019!

1. Derek Countryman
2. Abigail Smith
3.Lucas Sunderland
4. Kayla Mastin
5. Mollie Krug
6. Luke Van Slyke
7. Emma Trahan
8. Garrett Oeser
9. Isaiah Logan
10. Ethan France