COVID-19/Coronavirus Updates & Resources

All Canajoharie schools are closed until at least April 14 due to the ongoing COVID-19 public health situation. For updated information from the school district, including important notices, learning resources, technical support, and food distribution plans, please go to this page.

Varsity athletes honored at Athletic Awards

Varsity athletes were honored for achievements during the 2016-17 season at the Canajoharie High School Athletic Awards on May 30. The following students were recognized during the awards program:


Coach: Carrie Ferguson

Coach’s Award: Sophia Fischett

Boys Soccer

Coach: Blake Smith

Most Improved Player: Dale Plant

Most Valuable Player:  Andrew Towse

Most Dedicated Player:  Elijah Bowley

Girls Soccer

Coach: Ellee Fichthorn

Coach’s Award: Hannah Smith

Captain’s Award: Cassidy Ferguson

Hustle Award: Bethany Mead

Girls Track & Field

Coach: Ellee Fichthorn

Most Valuable Track: Jordan Porter

Most Valuable Field: Sierra Hill

Most Valuable Track and Field: Meghan Dingman

Cross Country

Coach: Charlie Karker

Most Improved Runner: Trevor Howard

Most Outstanding Runner: Jordan Porter


Coach: Chris Smith

Lowest Average (39.36): Mike Balfe

Most Points (28/28): Austin Countryman

Lowest Round (-1): Mike Balfe

Lowest Round (-1): Austin Countryman


Coach: Stephanie Bartkus

Coach’s Award: Francesca Nare

MVP – Jenna Shepard

Most Improved: Jessica LaPine


Coach: Shannon Hyney

Offensive MVP: Richie Consalvo

Defensive MVP: Nick Suits

Coach’s Award: Nick Kocjan

Coach’s Award: Lucas Draffen

Special Awards

Team MVP:  Tangen Rush

Canfield Award:  John O’Connor

Priddle Award:   Joe Trembley

Dutcher Award:   Greg Meyers

Tony Camara Award:  Arthur Whitman

CYF Award:  Trevor Folts

Boys Bowling

Coach: Dwayne Heroth

Highest Average (197): James Fiaschetti

Highest Series (758): Cian DiMezza

Most Improved Award: Braedy Sickler

Greg Conrad Memorial Bowling Scholarship Award: James Fiaschetti

Girls Bowling

Coach: Dwayne Heroth

Highest Average (176): Amy Reedy

2nd Highest Average (157): Kiara Putnam

Most Improved Award: Melissa Bates

Greg Conrad Memorial Bowling Scholarship Award: Amy Reedy & Kiara Putnam

Nordic Ski (B & G)

Coach: Brent Watterson

MVP: Austin Countryman

MVP: Carolyn Adams

Most Improved: Jenna Shepard

Coach’s Award: Lucas Draffen

Coach’s Award: Madeline Elliott


Coach: Clay Oeser

Coach’s award – Jacob Montayne

MVP – Jarred Bentz

Most Improved – Adam Oertel

Darin Bowerman Award (perpetual plate & Monetary Award) – Derek Countryman

Swimming & Diving

Coach: Phil Horender

MVP: Joe Trembley

Coach’s Award: Dale Plant

Coach’s Award: Alex Sydow

Most Improved Award: Olivia Hopkins

Girls Basketball

Coach: Stephanie Bartkus

MVP: Sierra Hill

Perseverance Award: Hannah Smith

Coach’s Award: Callie Shannon

Boys Basketball

Coach: Phil Schoff

MVP: Mike Hartlieb

John Wooden Leadership Award: Trevor Folts

Robert Horry Glory Award: Mike Balfe


Coach: Bridget Anderson

Offensive MVP: Jenna Shepard

MVP: Mackenzie Bowerman

Rookie of the Year: Mollie Krug


Coach: Brent Watterson

Most Outstanding Pitcher: Lucas Sossei

Defensive MVP: Isaiah Logan

Offensive MVP: Nick Kocjan

Boys Track & Field

Coach: Kevin Stuttle

Track Athlete of the Year:  Kevin Mazzarella

Field Athlete of the Year:  Mike Hartlieb

Track and Field Athlete of the Year:  Andrew Yacobucci


Booster Club Scholarship Award:

Female: Hannah Smith

Male: John O’Connor

Sportsmanship Award:

Female: Francesca Nare

Male: Mike Balfe

Coaches Award:

Female: Jenna Shepard

Male: Trevor Folts

Fireman’s Award:

Female: Hannah Smith

Male: Mike Hartlieb